top of page

Finding God in His Creation

The start of quarantine sparked in me a love of nature that I had never experienced before. Prior to this time, I would often be reluctant to just take a walk. Now I realize that my disinterest in nature deprived me of one of the greatest blessings God provides us with every day.

I don't know what caused the sudden shift -- maybe it was the fact that the virus stole our freedom to venture anywhere we like, or maybe living in downtown Toronto for nearly a year instilled a craving in me for something other than concrete buildings. Whatever it was, it pushes me to now experience God through His creation as often as I can.

As I strolled along the sidewalks of my neighbourhood, it was a matter of weeks before the trees grew little buds, which turned to blossoms, then leaves. God showed me rabbits hopping across yards, squirrels hiding peanuts, baby geese grow into teenagers, and even a frog hopping on the sidewalk. All types of birds, from robins to cardinals, sang in a beautiful chorus.

"Your love, Lord, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. Your righteousness is like the highest mountains, your justice like the great deep. You, Lord, preserve both people and animals. How priceless is your unfailing love, O God! People take refuge in the shadow of wings." Psalm 36: 5-7

It couldn't be clearer to me that God not only created each one of these animals with their little quirks and skills, but he took constant care of them. In this way, the more I pay attention to God's creation, the more of His heart is revealed to me. The way the birds sing encourages me to sing praises to our Creator, and the way the flowers bloom reveal to me his beauty and majesty.


All of creation should leave us in such awe -- not for their own sake, but because they point to our mighty God who created all of them. If the work of His hands reveals such beauty and wisdom, how much more should we appreciate God Himself, in His wisdom and His love for us? If He takes care of all of these creatures, how much more does He care for us, who were created in His image!

Each time I gaze at the sky, it's never the same. Each sunset paints the sky with vivid colours, the sky a canvas of God's grace. Not only that, but He is faithful as the sun that rises each morning. Each time the sun sets, regardless of what happened that day, it is an important reminder that God is still good, and that He still reigns sovereign over all.


"The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech: night after night they reveal knowledge.They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world." Psalm 19: 1-4

Isn't it wonderful that the testimony creation offers to us knows no geographical or language bounds? Wherever you are, whoever you are, creation is always declaring the glory of its Maker, to the ends of the earth.


I encourage you to contemplate God in His creation, maybe through a prayer walk, taking a hike, or even by playing with your dog outside! Also, a great worship song related to this topic is "So Will I (100 Billion X)" by Hillsong United.

3 Comments


laurenxu66
Jun 04, 2020

Great piece Rachel! I love how thoughtful your reflection on nature and its grandness it! :)

Like

Victoria Shi
Victoria Shi
Jun 02, 2020

I love this! Nature is a blessing from God that we often take for granted, but it's so important to have a thankful heart and praise Him for everything He has given us <3

Like

Rachel In
Rachel In
Jun 02, 2020

Hey Rachel, thanks for sharing this! I have also been thinking about the same things while being quarantined and I can really agree that "All of creation should leave us in such awe -- not for their own sake, but because they point to our mighty God who created all of them."😊

Like
bottom of page