top of page

NEVER ALONE, NEVER ABANDONED

Excerpt from 'the Story' Scripture Union Canada


It can be quite painful to face hardship of any kind on our own. As much as the people who care about us would like to help, sometimes they simply do not hold the solution to our difficult circumstances. So, to whom do we turn?

Psalm 25 offers us a helpful way to pray when troubles come. This Psalm is one of a number of lamentations recorded in this beautiful book of the Bible. It is an individual lament. Written by King David, this poetic prayer tells us that he was often afflicted by turmoil and fear, much as we also experience. Most importantly we see in the verses of this Psalms the fragility of our own humanness and our propensity to sin. David knew that in these instances the answer would not be found on the battlefield but in prayer for forgiveness, protection, and guidance.

His language is strong. There is no timidity, no apology. It is time to turn to God with everything he's got. "I offer you my heart, Lord God... Forget each wrong I did... Show how truly kind you are and remember me...Show that you care and have pity on me...". The moment we pray such words, we cease to be alone with our circumstances and experience the Lord's transforming presence. We taste and see that our God is a friend to his worshippers.

There is a long tradition of crying out to God in anguish throughout Scripture and we should never shy away from such prayers. Life runs deep and the wounds and troubles we endure have a profound impact on us. But thanks be to God, we are not alone. Let's go to him quickly and ask for his forgiveness, protection, and guidance.


Prayer:


Dear Lord, merciful and dependable; no one who comes to you in sincerity and humility is ever disappointed. When I feel overwhelmed, fearful, or confused, draw me to you. Fill my whole being with deep trust. Forgive my sins, protect my life, and guide my steps. Through Jesus my saviour and friend. Amen.


Comments


bottom of page