top of page

The Lord my Shepherd and Comforter

Being situated at home for a long period, as we collectively wait out this pandemic, has given me discomfort for the most part. I find myself reminiscing and looking forward to seeing my friends, traveling, and exploring new cafes. Despite being thankful that the Lord has blessed me with a humble abode, healthy family, and the luxury of rest, this new normal is still a challenge that I am learning to overcome each day. Moreover, as the days I am at home perpetuates, I grow vulnerable to the overwhelming thoughts that flood my mind.


Recently, with many prayers, I’ve learned to shift my thoughts to find true comfort and rest that overcome these thoughts. It seems counterintuitive, why would I want more rest when it seems that being stuck at home = rest? But the rest that the Lord provides is steadfast and abounding in love, unlike any worldly type of rest. To me, spiritual rest is acknowledging that only the Lord is the provider that I long for; He is the comforter of my soul and His goodness overflows in me. It is the ability to be still and patient, trusting that He has promises yet to be revealed, even in this challenging season. It is knowing that whatever is troubling my mind, they are already in His heart. I'm still learning to remind myself every day that He continuously extends His loving arms towards me. All I need to do is accept it and say, “Yes and Amen.”


Psalm 23
The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3  he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

This Psalm has been stuck in my mind for the past two months. It is a reminder that my Lord creates and provides rest, and that He is the light in the darkness. The Lord, my shepherd, guides me toward green pastures and quiet waters, where my soul is refreshed, nourished, and transformed. He invites me to dwell in His house that is filled with goodness and love. I’ve realized that in this season of staying home and doing nothing it’s easy to feel bored, worried, anxious, and restless. But He invites us to focus on His truth and the comfort He provides.


To manifest this verse, I’ve realized that I find true spiritual rest from:

  1. Meditating on the word -- spending time with my Bible to learn more of the Lord’s character and His promises

  2. Praying without ceasing -- shifting the gears of my thoughts and heart back towards Jesus in everything I do

  3. Listening to acoustic worship songs -- surrendering to the abounding love of Jesus


The Lord says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28). What are some thoughts and worldly things that have been giving you a burden recently?


Seek the Lord and present them to Him; He will open up His arms and embrace you. The Good Shepherd will walk you through the darkest valley, refresh your soul, and comfort you.



2 Comments


Rachel In
Rachel In
May 27, 2020

thanks for sharing this! I was meditating upon Psalm 23 yesterday and received a lot of joy and peace from the Lord as well! Thank you for your encouragement this morning!☀️

Like

Victoria Shi
Victoria Shi
May 27, 2020

This was so comforting to read- thanks for sharing Regina 🥰

Like
bottom of page